March 31

Cliches

Generally I talk about fandoms on my blog but I sorta wanted to talk about Cliches. Cliches are all around in the entertainment business. Books, movies, and shows especially. Cliches do happen in real life but I’m not going to talk about that today. So if you want to hear my take on this topic here goes.

The cliche I want to talk about is one that comes up a lot in romance books. They also come out a lot in fanfiction.  I used to love them and I would read them a lot. (Disclaimer: I’m not trying to call anyone out or say they’re bad books.) But something that I would see a lot of is this. There is an untochable bad boy that loves no one with his own little group that are super popular. The new innocent girl comes to school and they boy instantly likes her. The girl doesn’t like the boy and tells him to back off. There is a typical jealous mean girl in there somewhere. The boy invades the girls person space. The girl eventually likes the boy. Some sorta drama happens. The story goes on like that.

There are also other cliches in these types of stories. The girl is often innocent and unnoticed and she always calls herself as nothing special. But she always ends up as this sassy person and apparently beautiful later on in the story. The bad boy is often terrible to the girl at times and yet the girl always forgives them. Also side note it seems like they never have homework.  Another thing is that other then the main boy and girl the characters around them often don’t have a lot to them. The best friends to each of the boy and girl don’t do a lot aside from support their friend and make some quips but that’s about it.

I have to admit that at first these stories seem really interesting but the more I looked at them at a different perspective and grew up a bit I don’t see them as appealing. From time to time they are fun to read but I have ended up liking stories that break cliches a bit more. I see some comments on people saying they wish they had these stories happen to them but in my opinion I don’t agree. If I came across a boy like that I would probably end up hating them.

Thanks for reading and tell me in the comments if you agree or not!

-Mina ♥

-Unsplash

 


Posted March 31, 2019 by hmsmina in category Intrests

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*