February 15

Social Studies Work

For my social studies work, I decided to post a slam poetry I did as a project. I thought it was fun and I liked it so I decided to put it up here.

Arrival of the missionaries

We sailed for days

With little knowledge about where we’re going

When we got there they were odd

 

They looked different

They talked different

And they lived different


We went there to teach

To improve their lives

With god

 

We were welcomed with kindness

 

We came at the perfect time

They had no religion

No real system

 

So we taught them about god

It fulfilled the empty part of their lives

 

It wasn’t without troubles

They looked at us oddly and so did we

We had to make our own homes

We sacrificed our skin and bones

They looked at us like we were from a different planet

 

It was dreadful at first, impossible even

To teach them about god

 

And at times we questioned

Is this worth it?

But it turned out it was and so we stayed

 

But a great sickness came

And a darkness fell over

 

Many died

And Hawaii Cried

 

It greatly affected us

And our mission

 

But we went on

And that is the story

Of the Arrival of the Missionary

I hoped you enjoyed it! When I was writing it I was really into it and it was fun to write. Thank you for reading!

-Mina


Posted February 15, 2018 by hmsmina in category Portfolio

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*